As Stargardter stumbling is part of everyday life. Curbs, stairs, roots or just things that are in the hallway on the floor, and were not there when I went by there the last time. You get used to this fact as such and the occasional blue toe associated with it. But: You can also stumble over other things than objects. 

ATMs - here as representative for all other automates such as tickets, self-checkout at the grocery store, or check-in at the airport - have evolved considerably since their introduction. But despite all the improvements they are always good for surprises.

On many occasions in daily live eye contact is important. It signals attention, respect and sincerity. Or it signals the driver that I want to cross the street or the waiter in the restaurant that I want to pay. As Stargarster that is not quite as straight forward as it sounds.

It seems strange at first glance that a Stargardter like me puts so much time and effort into photography. But I have learned to use my poor eyesight as a strength here. The fact that I see less, makes me see more of my subjects.

Obviously, traffic is a problem. I've given up riding a bike a while ago after I've overlooked and rammed a parked car. As a pedestrian, I've got a little more reaction time, because I'm slower. The basic problem is that an oncoming vehicle can be completely invisible to me if my blind spot happens to fall on it.

Write a comment

Es ist auf den ersten Blick erstaunlich, was trotz Stargardt im Büroalltag alles möglich ist. Bei genauerem Hinsehen, zeigt sich jedoch, dass es etliche Hürden gibt, die sich nur schwer umgehen lassen, insbesondere beim direkten Zusammenarbeiten mit anderen Leuten. Das fängt beim simplen Lesen von Akten an und hört beim blinden Präsentieren auf.

Write a comment

Auch das Aufspüren von Flecken und Schmutz hat so seine Tücken. Häufig hilft da nur ein systematischer Ansatz - alles oder nichts. Und manchmal die Jahreszeit.

Write a comment

Als Stargardter gehört Stolpern zum Alltag. Bordsteine, Treppenstufen, Wurzeln oder einfach Dinge, die im Flur auf dem Boden liegen, und noch nicht da waren, als ich das letzte Mal da durch ging. Daran und den gelegentlich damit verbundenen blauen Zeh kann man sich gewöhnen. Nur: Man kann nicht nur über Dinge stolpern.

Write a comment

Geldautomaten - hier stellvertretend für alle anderen Automaten wie Fahrscheine, Self-Checkout im Lebensmittelladen oder Check-in am Flughafen - haben sich sehr entwickelt seit ihrer Einführung. Bei allen Verbesserungen sind sie immer mal wieder für Überraschungen gut.

Write a comment

Bei vielen Gelegenheiten im Alltag ist der Augenkontakt wichtig. Er signalisiert Aufmerksamkeit, Respekt und Aufrichtigkeit. Oder er signalisiert dem Autofahrer, dass ich über die Strasse will, oder der Bedienung im Restaurant, dass ich zahlen will. Als Stargarster ist das allerdings nicht ganz so selbstverständlich, wie es sich anhört.